Thursday, Apr 24, 2014
  • Home
Pinellas News

Mayor Archie, Commissioner Larsen attract no challengers

Published:   |   Updated: May 16, 2013 at 09:33 PM

Next spring's city elections will be rather uneventful for two incumbents.

No one challenged either Mayor David Archie or Commissioner Jeff Larsen for re-election by last Wednesday's deadline for filing to run for the three seats on the city commission that will be on the 2013 municipal ballot. That means Archie and Larsen are automatically re-elected.

All four candidates who filed by the deadline are seeking Commission Seat 4, now held by Commissioner Chris Alahouzos.

Alahouzos was ineligible by seek re-election in the March 12, 2013, election because of term limits in the city charter.

Alahouzos, near the end of his second three-year term, served slightly longer than six years because he was first appointed to fill a vacant seat on Dec. 12, 2006. He won the seat in the 2007 city election.

Archie and Larsen were both elected to their current positions in the 2010 municipal election.

The four candidates for Seat 4 are David Banther, Jim Bouldin, Tommy Frain and Timothy Keffalas.

Banther, a Tarpon Springs native, has served on the city's Budget Advisory Committee and is a member of the Tarpon Springs Rotary.

Bouldin does work with the newspaper Hernando Today, a corporate cousin of The Suncoast News.

Frain, a graduate of Tarpon Springs High School, created a citizens watch group in 2010 called Citizens Coalition for Police Accountability.

Keffalas, who ran unsuccessfully for Commission Seat 2 against Commissioner Susan Slattery in 2011, is a member of the Tarpon Springs Area Historical Society.

Tarpon Springs is one of 17 Pinellas County municipalities scheduled to hold elections, though all may not be necessary if all races are unopposed.

Residents interested in mail-in ballots may call the Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections at (727) 464-8683 or go to (727) 815-1071


Part of the Tribune family of products